Art: Online Research Resources
BOLD = places to start
Art Full Text - Mostly full-text. Offers both full-text and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications-now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism
Humanities Full Text - Mostly Full text. A full-text database of nearly 200 journals, dating back to 1995. It also indexes over 500 journals as far back as 1984. Coverage includes some of the most important journals in their fields.
JSTOR - Full text. A comprehensive archive of important and core journals, dating back to the beginning of their publication. TESC has access to Arts & Sciences I-IV, VII, Life Sciences and Ireland.
Left Index - Index. Provides access to a diversity of literature on the left, with an emphasis on scholarship inside and outside of the academy and on significant but little know sources.
Artcyclopedia - Images. A comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. We have started out by covering the biggest and best sites around, and have links for most well-known artists to keep you surfing for hours. Update September/2004: We have now indexed 1800 art sites, and offer over 60,000 links to an estimated 150,000 artworks by 8,100 renowned artists.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture - Full Text. This database is one of the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance-from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
Oxford Art Online - Full text. Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative and easily searchable online art resources the most authoritative and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Oxford Reference Online Premium - Full Text. This combines the scholarly resources offered by the Oxford Companions series with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. This also includes the Literature Collection, which spans a wealth of international literary history; and the Western Civilization Collection, which traces the development of western thought and culture from the time of Socrates.
Art Institute of Chicago - Images. The collection encompasses more than 5,000 years of human expression from cultures around the world.
ARTstor - Images. ARTstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. PLEASE NOTE: From off-campus, you will need to log into an account created from campus to remove the "examination copy" watermark.
CAMIO: OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online - Images. A source of high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums. Many of the images have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes.
Coleccion Cisneros.org - Images. The Coleccin Cisneros is a visual arts program of the Fundacin Cisneros. Its mission is to collect, preserve, study, and exhibit the Coleccin's extensive artworks and related archives, which consist primarily of modern and contemporary art, with an emphasis on Latin America. The Coleccin also includes Colonial Latin American art, international decorative arts, and a selection of Latin American landscapes from the seventeenth to the early twentieth century, executed by both local artists and those who traveled to the continent from North America and Europe.
Essence of Line - Images. Drawn from the collections of The Baltimore Museum of Art and the Walters Art Museum, the drawings featured here form one of the nation's strongest and richest collections of French art from this period. The database also includes works from the Peabody Institute Art Collection of the Maryland State Archives.
Euromouse.net - Images. Euromuse.net is a public access portal giving accurate information on major exhibitions in European museums.
Fine Art Museums of San Francisco - Images. The Thinker ImageBase is a fully keyword searchable database; it contains 82,000 images from the collections of the two museums.
Louvre Museum Official Website - Images. Over 35,000 art images from the Louvre.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Images. In formation since 1870, the Metropolitan Museum's collection now contains more than three million works of art from all points of the compass, ancient through modern times. About 3,500 objects-fifty highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments as well as the entire department of European Paintings-can be searched by artist, period, style, or keyword.
National Gallery of Art - Images. Search their entire collection of over 106,000 objects and view images for over 5,600 works.
Smithsonian American Art Museum - Images. Search the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collection of 40,000 art objects. More than 19,000 works are illustrated online.
Visual Arts Data Service - Images. Over 100,000 images available. Online visual arts collections can be used to enhance an art history lecture, give students a refresher on various types of architecture, and for community history projects. Clicking on the "Collections" section will give you a sense of the broad coverage offered on the site. The site also has a list of case studies and a guide to good practice for those who might be working on digital projects in art education.
Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture - Images. View maps, fine artwork, photographs and other items from over thirty renowned collections.
Webmuseum, Paris - Images. A collaborative effort among art museums worldwide to make large portions of their collections available on the web. Most are from university collections.