Arts & Humanities Images: Online Research Resources
accessCeramics - Images. A growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists.
American Memory: Historical Collections from the National Digital Library - Images. American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Art Institute of Chicago - Images. The collection encompasses more than 5,000 years of human expression from cultures around the world.
Artcyclopedia - Images. A comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. We have started out by covering the biggest and best sites around, and have links for most well-known artists to keep you surfing for hours. Update September/2004: We have now indexed 1800 art sites, and offer over 60,000 links to an estimated 150,000 artworks by 8,100 renowned artists.
ARTstor - Images. ARTstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. PLEASE NOTE: From off-campus, you will need to log into an account created from campus to remove the "examination copy" watermark.
CAMIO: OCLC's Catalog of Art Images Online - Images. A source of high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums. Many of the images have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes.
Coleccion Cisneros.org: a Program of the Fundacion Cisneros - Images. The Coleccin Cisneros is a visual arts program of the Fundacin Cisneros. Its mission is to collect, preserve, study, and exhibit the Coleccin's extensive artworks and related archives, which consist primarily of modern and contemporary art, with an emphasis on Latin America. The Coleccin also includes Colonial Latin American art, international decorative arts, and a selection of Latin American landscapes from the seventeenth to the early twentieth century, executed by both local artists and those who traveled to the continent from North America and Europe.
Essence of Line: French Drawings from Ingres to Degas - Images. Drawn from the collections of The Baltimore Museum of Art and the Walters Art Museum, the drawings featured here form one of the nation's strongest and richest collections of French art from this period. The database also includes works from the Peabody Institute Art Collection of the Maryland State Archives.
euromouse.net - Images. Euromuse.net is a public access portal giving accurate information on major exhibitions in European museums.
Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco - Images. The Thinker ImageBase is a fully keyword searchable database; it contains 82,000 images from the collections of the two museums.
Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library - Images. Allows one to search both The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library.
George Eastman House: International Museum of Photography and Film - Images. George Eastman House, an independent nonprofit museum, is an educational institution that tells the story of photography and motion pictures.
Google Art Project - Images. A unique collaboration with some of the world's most acclaimed art museums to enable people to discover and view more than a thousand artworks online in extraordinary detail.
Helios: Photography Online - Images. The photography collection of the Smithsonian American Art Museum.
Louvre Museum Official Website - Images. Over 35,000 art images from the Louvre.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Images. In formation since 1870, the Metropolitan Museum's collection now contains more than three million works of art from all points of the compass, ancient through modern times. About 3,500 objects-fifty highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments as well as the entire department of European Paintings-can be searched by artist, period, style, or keyword.
National Gallery, London - Images. The National Gallery houses the national collection of Western European painting from the 13th to the 19th centuries.
National Gallery of Art - Images. Search their entire collection of over 106,000 objects and view images for over 5,600 works.
New York Municipal Archives Online - Images. Contains over 870,000 images of New York City selected from the municipal Archive. It goes back to the mid-1800s.
NYPL Digital Gallery - Images. Provides "more than 400,000 digital images from New York Public Library collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, rare prints, and photographs."
Perseus Digital Library - Images. This website covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog - Images. The Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) provides access through group or item records to about 75% of the Division's holdings, as well as to some images found in other units of the Library of Congress.
Smithsonian American Art Museum - Images. Search the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collection of 40,000 art objects. More than 19,000 works are illustrated online.
Time & Life Pictures - Images. Time & Life Pictures is an unparalleled collection of striking imagery, documenting past and present events in politics, culture, celebrities and the arts.
Visual Arts Data Service - Images. Over 100,000 images available. Online visual arts collections can be used to enhance an art history lecture, give students a refresher on various types of architecture, and for community history projects. Clicking on the "Collections" section will give you a sense of the broad coverage offered on the site. The site also has a list of case studies and a guide to good practice for those who might be working on digital projects in art education.
Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture - Images. View maps, fine artwork, photographs and other items from over thirty renowned collections.
Webmuseum, Paris - Images. A collaborative effort among art museums worldwide to make large portions of their collections available on the web. Most are from university collections.