Arts & Humanities Reference: Online Research resources
African Music encyclopedia - Full-text. Besides the encyclopedia itself, this website includes a glossary, an alphabetical list of artists, and other helpful links.
ARTstor - Images. ARTstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. PLEASE NOTE: From off-campus, you will need to log into an account created from campus to remove the "examination copy" watermark.
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names - Full-text. Thousands of entries, with hyperlinks to additional essays and resource material. For many of the major philosophers, provides a brief discussion of major philosophical tenets and contributions to the field, along with a bibliography of primary and secondary works and links. For students and persons with an emerging interest in philosophy, this site will serve as a good starting point for understanding the discipline, its concepts, and its practitioners.
Directory of Poetry Publishers - Full text. This features some 21 pieces of information on each of the more than 1,800 book and magazine publishers of poetry worldwide -- including university presses and e-zines.
Directory of Small Press and Magazine Editors & Publishers - Full text. This is the "names & numbers" guide to the small press and magazine industry. More than just the "movers and shakers," this is the definitive small press directory to the men and women who run the small presses including self-publishers.
Encyclopedia of Diderot and d'Alembert: Collaborative Translation Project - Full-text. One of the crowning achievements of the Enlightenment, the Encyclopedia edited by Denis Diderot and Jean le Rond d'Alembert in the 18th century has proved to be fertile ground for those who have sought to classify and chronicle the various branches of knowledge. This is an online version translated into English, with links to the original French versions.
Encyclopedia of Journalism - Full-text. Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full-text. A selection of encyclopedias covering such subjects as business, history, literature and more.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Arts and Architecture - Full Text. This database is one of the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance-from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses - Full text. This lists almost 4,000 book and magazine publishers of literary, avant garde, cutting-edge contemporary, left wing, right wing and fiction to non-fiction essays, reviews, artwork, music, satire, criticism, commentary, letters, parts of novels, long poems, concrete art, collages, plays, news items and more.
Oxford Art Online - Full text. Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative and easily searchable online art resources the most authoritative and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Oxford Music Online - Full text. Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.
Pop Culture Universe - Multimedia & Full-text. An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
Searchable Sea Literature - Full text. "Searchable Sea Literature" is devoted to works by American authors, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and plays.
Small Press record of Books in Print - Full text. This is the definitive record of books in print by the small press industry, listing more than 40,000 titles from more than 4,600 small, independent, educational and self-publishers worldwide.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Full-text. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is intended to serve as an authoritative reference work suitable for use by professionals and students in the field of philosophy, as well as by all others interested in authoritative discussions on philosophical topics.