The Evergreen State College Wordmark

The Daniel J. Evans Library

Biology: Online Research Resources

Browse by subject:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Articles

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts - Index. Indexes over 5000 journals, books, reports and proceedings. Coverage begins with 1995.

Biological Abstracts - Index. Coverage from 1969 to present in over 4,000 journals. Updated every 2 months with nearly 370,000 new citations added each year. 90% of all new citations include an abstract by the author.

BioMed Central - Full text. Over 100 Open Access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine.

BioOne - Full text. Both full-text and indexing for about over 100 high-impact bioscience journals, beginning in 2000.

Ebscohost: Biology - Some full-text. Search 3 Ebsco databases at one time: Academic Search Complete, Biological Abstracts and Environment Complete

Environment Complete - Some full-text. Sciences & Social Sciences. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

JSTOR - Full text. A comprehensive archive of important and core journals, dating back to the beginning of their publication. TESC has access to Arts & Sciences I-IV, VII, Life Sciences and Ireland.

Nature - Full-text. Access from 1997 to present.

Science.gov - Some Full-text. Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.

ScienceDirect - Full-text. Includes two collections: Social & Behavioral Sciences Collection and the Health & Life Sciences Collection. Approximately 1350 full-text journals.

SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive - Full text. Provides full-text access to an extensive Ornithological materials of international scope, and detailed material documenting the study of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

Reference

Encyclopedia of Animal behavior - Full-text. This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.

Encyclopedia of Inland Waters - This work describes and explains all the basic features of the subject, from water chemistry and physics, to the biology of aquatic creatures and the complex function and balance of aquatic ecosystems of varying size and complexity.

Encyclopedia of Life - Full-text. The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) began in 2007 with the bold idea to provide "a webpage for every species." EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one massive database and a single, easy-to-use online portal.

Oxford Reference Online Premium - Full Text. This combines the scholarly resources offered by the Oxford Companions series with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. This also includes the Literature Collection, which spans a wealth of international literary history; and the Western Civilization Collection, which traces the development of western thought and culture from the time of Socrates.

ScienceDirect: Reference Works - Full text. A Number of ScienceDirect's encyclopedias, covering subjects in both the sciences and social sciences.

E-books

Ebrary: Biology

Streaming Media

Macaulay Library - Streaming Media. The Macaulay Library is the world's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings.

Images

Dennis Kunkel's Microscopy - Images. The image gallery contains hundreds of micrographs of scientific, biological and medical subjects photographed with electron microscopes.

FWS National Digital Library - Images. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video and that are in the public domain.