The Evergreen State College Wordmark

The Daniel J. Evans Library

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias: Online Research Resources

Browse by subject:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionaries Online - Full text. Includes Cambridge's Learner's Dictionary, International Dictionary of English, and Dictionary of American English.

Oxford English Dictionary - Full text. This dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cook books.

Oxford Reference Online Premium - Full Text. This combines the scholarly resources offered by the Oxford Companions series with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. This also includes the Literature Collection, which spans a wealth of international literary history; and the Western Civilization Collection, which traces the development of western thought and culture from the time of Socrates.

Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology - Full-text. This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline.

Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body - Full-text. Explores the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world.

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior - Full-text. This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics Online - Full text. The most comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics ever published. Comprising more than 2.5 million words, the Encyclopedia is a work of unprecedented scope and quality written by 800 of the world's leading names in astronomy and astrophysics.

Encyclopedia of Consciousness - Full text. Coverage encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness; the neural circuitry involved; how the brain, body, and world interact; and our understanding of subjective states.

Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience - Full-text. Addresses traditional death and dying-related topics, focusing on the human experience. Includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning.

Encyclopedia of Ecology - Full text. This work contains contributions from international experts on a diverse array of topics related to ecology..

Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition - Full text. Provides comprehensive coverage of the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition

Encyclopedia of Geology - Full text. This work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.

Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development - Full text. A reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.

Encyclopedia of Inland Waters - Full text. This work describes and explains all the basic features of the subject, from water chemistry and physics, to the biology of aquatic creatures and the complex function and balance of aquatic ecosystems of varying size and complexity.

Encyclopedia of Journalism - Full-text. Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.

Encyclopedia of Life - Full-text. The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) began in 2007 with the bold idea to provide "a webpage for every species." EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one massive database and a single, easy-to-use online portal.

Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment - Full text. This work encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere.

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry - Full text. This work covers theory, methods, and applications for researchers, students, and professionals-combining proven techniques and new insights for comprehensive coverage of the field.

Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History - Full-text. Covers strikes and lockouts from 1636-2008.

Encyclopedia of Time - Full-text. Surveys the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse the present understanding of time. Explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full-text. A selection of encyclopedias covering such subjects as business, history, literature and more.

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture - Full Text. This database is one of the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance-from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.

International Encyclopedia of Education - Full text. The wide coverage will appeal to both scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest - Full-text. Covers the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years. Provides scholars and teachers and students with the information needed to understand the role and significance and origin of protest and revolution from 1500 to the present

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences - Full text. This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences 2nd edition (Darity, ed.) - Full text. This encyclopedia contains 2990 articles to meet the needs of college students and researchers.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences 1st edition (Sills, ed.) - Full-text. Includes numerous entries on topics in social science research and practice.

Oxford Reference Online Premium - Full Text. This combines the scholarly resources offered by the Oxford Companions series with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. This also includes the Literature Collection, which spans a wealth of international literary history; and the Western Civilization Collection, which traces the development of western thought and culture from the time of Socrates.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Full text. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is intended to serve as an authoritative reference work suitable for use by professionals and students in the field of philosophy, as well as by all others interested in authoritative discussions on philosophical topics.