The Evergreen State College Wordmark

The Daniel J. Evans Library

E: Online Research Resources

Browse by title:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Early Washington Maps: a Digital Collection - Images. A digitized collection of maps spanning three hundred years of exploration and settlement in the Pacific Northwest.
In: geography  maps

EBL Ebook Library - Full-text. WATCH OUT! When asked for your UNIVERSITY ID NUMBER, they want your A #. This database, which will eventually have approximately 5000 ebooks, is a project of the Orbis Cascade Alliance, the group that brings us Summit. Books can be viewed online or checked out and viewed offline. NOTE: Use of this database is restricted to students, staff & faculty of TESC. You will need to authenticate both on and off campus.
In: multidisciplinary e-books  sciences e-books  social sciences e-books

Ebrary Academic Complete - Full-text. Ebrary is a full-text collection of e-books, drawn from a number of academic presses, of over 70,000 titles. The selection covers a full range of subjects. It is available 24/7. Books are not checked out on this database but are accessible by any number of people at the same time. Individual book titles can be found in the library catalog. Quick Guide
In: multidisciplinary e-books  sciences e-books  social sciences e-books

Ebsco Ebook Collection - Full-text. Formerly known as Netlibrary.
In: multidisciplinary e-books  sciences e-books  social sciences e-books

Ebscohost - Some full-text. Search over a dozen Ebsco databases at once.
In: multidisciplinary full text articles  native american studies

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior - Full-text. This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.
In: biology  dictionaries & encyclopedias  sciences reference

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics Online - Full text. The most comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics ever published. Comprising more than 2.5 million words, the Encyclopedia is a work of unprecedented scope and quality written by 800 of the world's leading names in astronomy and astrophysics.
In: astronomy  dictionaries & encyclopedias  sciences reference

Encyclopedia of Consciousness - Full text. Coverage encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness; the neural circuitry involved; how the brain, body, and world interact; and our understanding of subjective states.
In: dictionaries & encyclopedias  psychology  social sciences reference 

Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience - Full-text. Addresses traditional death and dying-related topics, focusing on the human experience. Includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning.
In: anthropology  dictionaries & encyclopedias  social sciences reference  sociology

Encyclopedia of Ecology - Full text. This work contains contributions from international experts on a diverse array of topics related to ecology.
In: dictionaries & encyclopedias  ecology  sciences reference

Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition - Full text. Provides comprehensive coverage of the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition.
In: dictionaries & encyclopedias  nutrition  sciences reference

Encyclopedia of Geology - Full text. This work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.
In: dictionaries & encyclopedias  geology  sciences reference

Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development - Full text. A reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.
In: dictionaries & encyclopedias  psychology  sciences reference  social sciences reference 

Encyclopedia of Inland Waters - Full text. This work describes and explains all the basic features of the subject, from water chemistry and physics, to the biology of aquatic creatures and the complex function and balance of aquatic ecosystems of varying size and complexity.
In: biology  dictionaries & encyclopedias  ecology  environment  sciences reference

Encyclopedia of Journalism - Full-text. Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
In: arts & humanities reference  dictionaries & encyclopedias  economics  social sciences reference 

Encyclopedia of Life - Full-text. The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) began in 2007 with the bold idea to provide "a webpage for every species." EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one massive database and a single, easy-to-use online portal.
In: biology  dictionaries & encyclopedias  social sciences reference

Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment - Full text. This work encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere.
In: agriculture  dictionaries & encyclopedias  environment  sciences reference  sustainability

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry - Full text. This work covers theory, methods, and applications for researchers, students, and professionals-combining proven techniques and new insights for comprehensive coverage of the field.
In: dictionaries & encyclopedias  physics  sciences reference

Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History - Full-text. Covers strikes and lockouts from 1636-2008.
In:  business  dictionaries & encyclopedias  history  social sciences reference 

Encyclopedia of Time - Full-text. Surveys the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse the present understanding of time. Explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present.
In:  dictionaries & encyclopedias  philosophy  sciences reference  social sciences reference 

Enduring Legacy Native Case Studies (The Evergreen State College) - Full text. The mission of the Enduring Legacies Native Cases Initiative is to develop culturally relevant curriculum and teaching resources in the form of case studies on key issues in Indian Country.
In: native american studies

Energy Citations Database - Index. Indexing of bibliographic records covering scientific & technical information from the Department of Energy. Material covered includes books, conference papers, dissertations, journal articles, patents, and reports.
In:  chemistry  energy  geology  mathematics  oceanography  physics  sciences reference

Environment Complete - Some full-text. This database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
In:  agriculture  biology  ecology  environment  geography  marine biology  natural history  sciences full text articles  social sciences full text articles

ERIC (OCLC) - Some full text. Indexes over 2000 titles, dating back to 1966. This database includes nearly a million records.
In: deaf studies  education  social sciences article indexes

ERIC (Ebsco) - Some full text. Indexes over 2000 titles, dating back to 1966. This database includes nearly a million records.
In:  deaf studies  education  social sciences article indexes

Essence of Line - Images. Drawn from the collections of The Baltimore Museum of Art and the Walters Art Museum, the drawings featured here form one of the nation's strongest and richest collections of French art from this period. The database also includes works from the Peabody Institute Art Collection of the Maryland State Archives.
In: arts & humanities images

Ethnic NewsWatch - Full text. Over 200 full-text publications of ethnic minority and native press -- English and Spanish.
In: arts & humanities full text articles  ethnic studies  journalism  multidisciplinary full text articles  native american studies  social sciences full text articles

Europa Film Treasures - Streaming Media. Makes available restored versions of early, rare, and artistic motion pictures depicting Europe's cultural heritage, politics, and history.
In: arts & humanities streaming media 

European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750 - Index. This resource was created from the European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe, an authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
In:  social sciences reference