The Evergreen State College Wordmark

The Daniel J. Evans Library

History: Online Research Resources

Browse by subject:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Articles

America: History & Life - Index. Indexes over 2000 journals, starting in 1964.

American Museum of Natural History (AMNH) Research Library OPAC - Full Text. AMNH scientific publications disseminate the results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues.

Ebscohost: History - Indexing. Search 3 Ebsco databases at one time: America: history & life, Historical Abstracts, and Left Index.

Historical Abstracts - Index. An annotated bibliographical database covering 2,000 journals. Covers history from 1450 to present, excluding the United States and Canada.

Humanities Full Text - Mostly Full text. A full-text database of nearly 200 journals, dating back to 1995. It also indexes over 500 journals as far back as 1984. Coverage includes some of the most important journals in their fields.

JSTOR - Full text. A comprehensive archive of important and core journals, dating back to the beginning of their publication. TESC has access to Arts & Sciences I-IV, VII, Life Sciences and Ireland.

Left Index - Index. Provides access to a diversity of literature on the left, with an emphasis on scholarship inside and outside of the academy and on significant but little know sources.

Nineteenth Century in Print: the Masking of America in Books and Periodicals - Full text. Full-text of 23 popular magazines from the 19th century. Select "periodicals".

Reference

American Indian Experience - Full-text. This is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States.

ArchiveGrid - Index. Access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections from around the world. Use for searching historical documents, personal papers and family histories.

Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body - Full-text. Explores the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world.

Encyclopedia of Consciousness - Full text. Coverage encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness; the neural circuitry involved; how the brain, body, and world interact; and our understanding of subjective states.

Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience - Full-text. Addresses traditional death and dying-related topics, focusing on the human experience. Includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning.

Encyclopedia of Journalism - Full-text. Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.

Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups - Full-text. This covers all aspects of social work with groups: including its history, values, major models, approaches and methods, education, research, journals, phases of development, working with specific populations and ages, plus many more. Each article includes references which can be a major resource for future exploration in the particular subject area.

Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History - Full-text. Covers strikes and lockouts from 1636-2008.

Encyclopedia of Time - Full-text. Surveys the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse the present understanding of time. Explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present.

European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750 - Index. This resource was created from the European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe, an authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full-text. A selection of encyclopedias covering such subjects as business, history, literature and more.

Great Events from History: the 20th Century, 1901-1940 - Full-text. Covers the early twentieth century receives worldwide coverage with the priority of meeting the needs of history students at the high school and undergraduate levels. The events covered include the curriculum-oriented geopolitical events of the era--from World War I (1914-1918) and the Russian Revolution (1917) to the rise of the German Nazi Party , the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), and the eruption of World War II in Europe (1939).

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest - Full-text. Covers the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years. Provides scholars and teachers and students with the information needed to understand the role and significance and origin of protest and revolution from 1500 to the present.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences 2nd edition - Full text. This encyclopedia contains 2990 articles to meet the needs of college students and researchers.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences 1st edition - Full-text. Includes numerous entries on topics in social science research and practice.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Culture: the Civilizations of Mexico and Central America - Full Text. This is a comprehensive reference source, with more than 600 articles, that chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History - Full Text. This has over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.

Oxford Reference Premium Online - Full Text. This combines the scholarly resources offered by the Oxford Companions series with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. This also includes the Literature Collection, which spans a wealth of international literary history; and the Western Civilization Collection, which traces the development of western thought and culture from the time of Socrates.

Pop Culture Universe - Multimedia & Full-text. An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.

Sixties in America - Full-text. This database surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States. The set not only provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the three major events of the 1960's that give the decade its distinctive character-the Civil Rights movement, the social revolution, and the Vietnam War-but also surveys important developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics, and gender issues.

Thurston County History: People and Places - Full text. This site is dedicated to the People and Places of Thurston County.

E-books

Black Abolitionist Archive - Full-text. The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files.

DPLA: Digital Public Library of America - Full text. Images. Streaming Media. The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Streaming Media

Black Studies in Video - Streaming Media. The database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

DPLA: Digital Public Library of America - Full text. Images. Streaming Media. The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Folkstreams.net - Streaming media. A national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures.

Images

American Memory - Images. American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience..

ARTstor - Images. ARTstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. PLEASE NOTE: From off-campus, you will need to log into an account created from campus to remove the "examination copy" watermark.

Digital Collections from the Libraries' Special Collections (UW Libraries) - Images. A major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats and periods.

DPLA: Digital Public Library of America - Full text. Images. Streaming Media. The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Perseus Digital Library - Images. This website covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Public Health Image Library - Images. This offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's pictures.

Smithsonian American Art Museum - Images. Search the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collection of 40,000 art objects. More than 19,000 works are illustrated online.

Time & Life Pictures - Images. Time & Life Pictures is an unparalleled collection of striking imagery, documenting past and present events in politics, culture, celebrities and the arts.

Washington State Digital Archives - Images. The Washington State Digital Archives is the nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.