Internet Guides: Online Research Resources
Finding Information on the Internet: a Tutorial - IFull text. This tutorial teaches both how to find information on the internet and how to evaluate the webpages you find.
Intute - IFull text. A free online service that helps you to find web resources for your studies and research.
ip12: Information You Can Trust - Full text. IPL2 is a publicly-funded website and weekly newsletter serving California, Washington state, the nation, and the world. This website has tens of thousands of entries, organized into 14 main topics and nearly 300 related topics. Previous title of website: Librarians' index to the Internet.
iTools! - Full-text. Includes links to author biographies and personal pages, a photo gallery, full text, and biographies all in one handy place. Also available are general and topical dictionaries, thesauruses, web page translators, homophone finders, rhyming dictionaries, and more. One especially nice feature is you can click on a word and hear it pronounced.
Libraryspot - Full text. A free virtual library resource center for educators and students, librarians and their patrons, families, businesses and just about anyone exploring the Web for valuable research information.
Using Primary Sources on the Web - Full text. Users of primary sources have always needed to examine their sources critically, but now with the proliferation of electronic resources from a wide variety of web site producers, evaluation is more important than ever before. Users of web resources must now consider the authenticity of documents, what person or organization is the internet provider, and whether the electronic version serves their needs. This brief guide is designed to provide students and researchers with information to help them evaluate the internet sources and the quality of primary materials that can be found online.
Voice of the Shuttle: Web Page for Humanities Research - Index. Started in 1994 as a suite of static Web pages, VoS has now been rebuilt as a database that Old VoS: Dec. 1994 to Oct. 2001serves content dynamically on the Web. Users gain greater flexibility in viewing and searching, while editors are able to work more efficiently and flexibly.