Literature: Online Research Resources
Ebscohost: Literature - Indexes. Search 2 Ebsco databases at one time: America: History & Life and MLA International Bibliography.
Google Scholar - Index. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Humanities Full Text - Mostly Full text. A full text database of nearly 200 journals, dating back to 1995. It also indexes over 500 journals as far back as 1984. Coverage includes some of the most important journals in their fields.
JSTOR - Full text. A comprehensive archive of important and core journals, dating back to the beginning of their publication. TESC has access to Arts & Sciences I-IV, VII, Life Sciences and Ireland.
MLA International Bibliography - Index. MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Directory of Poetry Publishers - Full text. This features some 21 pieces of information on each of the more than 1,800 book and magazine publishers of poetry worldwide -- including university presses and e-zines.
Directory of Small Press & Magazine Editors & Publishers - Full text. This is the "names & numbers" guide to the small press and magazine industry. More than just the "movers and shakers," this is the definitive small press directory to the men and women who run the small presses including self-publishers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full text.A selection of encyclopedias covering such subjects as business, history, literature and more.
International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses - Full text. This lists almost 4,000 book and magazine publishers of literary, avant garde, cutting-edge contemporary, left wing, right wing and fiction to non-fiction essays, reviews, artwork, music, satire, criticism, commentary, letters, parts of novels, long poems, concrete art, collages, plays, news items and more.
Oxford Reference Online Premium - Full Text. This combines the scholarly resources offered by the Oxford Companions series with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. This also includes the Literature Collection, which spans a wealth of international literary history; and the Western Civilization Collection, which traces the development of western thought and culture from the time of Socrates.
Pop Culture Universe - Multimedia & Full text. An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
Searchable Sea Literature - Full text. "Searchable Sea Literature" is devoted to works by American authors, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and plays.
Small Press Record of Books in Print - Full text. This is the definitive record of books in print by the small press industry, listing more than 40,000 titles from more than 4,600 small, independent, educational and self-publishers worldwide.
Alexander Street Literature - Full text. This database includes 8 literature databases, searchable as a group or separately: Black Short Fiction and Folklore, Black Women Writers, Caribbean Literature, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Latin American Women Writers, Latino Literature, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, South And Southeast Asian Literature.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore: from Africa and the African diaspora - Full text. Includes stories from African and the African Diaspora. It features over 11,000 stories and folk tales published in more than 15 countries from the mid-1900s to the present.
Black Women Writers - Full text. With over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays, Black Women Writers brings together, in electronic format for the first time, the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora.
Caribbean Literature - Full text. Starting with the literature produced in Spanish and French colonies in the 1800s, the collection offers an extensive selection of 19th- and 20th-century works from every Caribbean country.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period - Full text. Comprising more than eighty volumes of poetry by Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842, the database enables researchers to delve more deeply than ever into this significant, but largely underappreciated, body of work.
Latin American Women Writers - Full text. With over 100,000 pages of poetry, prose, and essays Latin American Women Writers accomplishes the difficult task of bringing together the most important women writers from the Ibero-American nations.
Latino Literature: poetry, drama, and fiction - Full text. 105,598 pages of fiction and poetry representing Chicano culture and the various ethnicities of Latin American writers working in the United States, together with over 450 plays.
Project Gutenburg - Full text. Over 33,000 free e-books. "Classic" literature in the public domain.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period - Full text. Includes 60 volumes of poetry by 47 authors. Accompanying the texts are extensive bio-critical essays, specially written for the database by leading critical bibliography compiled by the editors.
South and Southeast Asian Literature: classic and postcolonial writers in English, 1825 to present - Full text. A constantly growing collection that will bring together 100,000 pages of fiction, short fiction, poems, interviews, and manuscript materials written in English by writers in South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas.
Librivox: acoustical liberation of books in the public domain - Streaming Media. Audio books. LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then the audio files are placed onto the net for free. All the audio is in the public domain, so you may use it for whatever purpose you wish
Poetry Center Digital ARchive - Streaming Media. Poetry Center Digital Archive makes available significant portions of early audio recordings from the Poetry Center's American Poetry Archives collection, supplemented by select archival texts and images. New files will be added incrementally as recordings are prepared and as we proceed through the collection from the 1950s onward.
UbuWeb - Streaming media. UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.