Maps: Online Research Resources
1492: an Ongoing Voyage - Images. A collection of historical maps for a Library of Congress exhibit depicting European contact with Africa and the Americas.
Alexandria Digital Library - Images. This site includes maps of the universe, the world, and by country.
Civil War Maps - Images. Accuracy in mapping is crucial, and during the Civil War in the United States this important skill was vital to a successful campaign. In one of its most ambitious digital collections to date, the American Memory project at the Library of Congress has placed approximately 2240 Civil War maps and charts in this archive, along with 200 maps from the Library of Virginia and 400 maps from the Virginia Historical Society.
Colorform Landform Atlas of the United States - Images. Relief maps, county maps, satellite, and historical maps
Early Washington Maps - Images. A digitized collection of maps spanning three hundred years of exploration and settlement in the Pacific Northwest.
Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library Rare Map Collection - Images. A large collection of digitized, historical maps, covering the Colonial period, the Revolutionary & Civil Wars, and railroad maps.
Harvard Map Collection Website - Images. The collection includes ca. 400,000 maps, over 6,000 atlases, and several thousand reference books. Topographic maps, nautical charts and thematic maps representing all chronological periods and notable map makers.
MapQuest: Where to Go, How to Get There - Images. Street maps, driving directions, road trip planner, even Yellow Pages.
National Map - Images. The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data.
Nationalatlas.gov - Images. This program allows you to make your own maps. Select, change, and display map layers. Roam across America and zoom in to reveal more detail. Point at map features to learn more about them. Locate and map more than 2,000,000 geographic names in the United States. New map layers are added each month.
NYPL Digital Gallery - Images. Provides "more than 400,000 digital images from New York Public Library collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, rare prints, and photographs."
Thurston County History:People and Places - Full text & Images. This site is dedicated to the People and Places of Thurston County.
United Nations Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre: UNEP-WCMC - Images & Datasets. UNEP-WCMC's mission is to evaluate and highlight the many values of biodiversity and put authoritative biodiversity knowledge at the centre of decision-making.
University of Texas at Austin: Perry Castaneda Library Map Collection - Images. A digital map collection via the University of Texas.
USGS MapFinder - Images. MapFinder is a searchable catalog of maps and digital map data available from the USGS. Contains detailed listings for over 57,000 topographic, county, land-use and specialty maps within conterminous United States (lower 48 states). PLEASE NOTE: You may need to download the plug-in. It's easy.
Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture - Images. View maps, fine artwork, photographs and other items from over thirty renowned collections.
World Press Review Online Map Collection - Images. A collection of world maps.