The Evergreen State College Wordmark

The Daniel J. Evans Library

Medicine: Online Research Resources

Browse by subject:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Articles

Alt-HealthWatch - Full text. 170 full-text journals, plus reports, proceedings, pamphlets, and book excerpts. Coverage starts with 1992.

BioMed Central - Full text. Over 100 Open Access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine

Ebscohost: Medicine - Some full text. Search 5 Ebsco databases at one time: Alt-Healthwatch, Health Source, Health Source: Consumer Edition, MEDLINE and PsycInfo.

Health Source - Mostly Full text. This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. This database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Health Source: Consumer Edition - Mostly full text. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Highwire: Library of Science and Medicine - Full text. A large archive of full-text scientific journals.

MEDLINE (OCLC) - Index. The index of the National Library of medicine, covering materials from 1965 to present.

MEDLINE (Ebsco) - Index. The index of the National Library of medicine, covering materials from 1965 to present.

PsycInfo - Index. Indexing begins with 1887, covering 9900 titles, from 25 different languages. Since 1987, it has included chapter and book coverage for materials in English.

PubMed - Index. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Science.gov - Some Full text. Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.

ScienceDirect - Full text. Includes two collections: Social & Behavioral Sciences Collection and the Health & Life Sciences Collection. Approximately 1350 full-text journals.

Reference

Global Library of Women's Medicine - Full text. A comprehensive reference to current clinical practice for clinicians and other medical professionals - constantly updated, fully referenced and peer reviewed.

Oxford Reference Online Premium - Full text. This combines the scholarly resources offered by the Oxford Companions series with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. This also includes the Literature Collection, which spans a wealth of international literary history; and the Western Civilization Collection, which traces the development of western thought and culture from the time of Socrates.

E-books
Streaming Media
Images

Dennis Kunkel's Microscopy - Images. The image gallery contains hundreds of micrographs of scientific, biological and medical subjects photographed with electron microscopes.

Images from the History of Medicine - Images. Provides access to nearly 70,000 images, including portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.