The Evergreen State College Wordmark

The Daniel J. Evans Library

Online Research Resources: Native American Studies

Browse by subject:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

BOLD = places to start

Articles

Ebscohost - Some full-text. Search over a dozen Ebsco databases at once.

Ethnic NewsWatch - Full text. Over 200 full-text publications of ethnic minority and native press -- English and Spanish.

Indian Country Today - Full text. Indian Country Today is a full service media network, Indian Country Today Media Network, and weekly magazine.

JSTOR - Full text. A comprehensive archive of important and core journals, dating back to the beginning of their publication. TESC has access to Arts & Sciences I-IV, VII, Life Sciences and Ireland.

NativeWeb News Digest - Full text. NativeWeb is an international, nonprofit, educational organization dedicated to using telecommunications including computer technology and the Internet to disseminate information from and about indigenous nations, peoples, and organizations around the world; to foster communication between native and non-native peoples; to conduct research involving indigenous peoples' usage of technology and the Internet; and to provide resources, mentoring, and services to facilitate indigenous peoples' use of this technology.

Reference

American Indian Experience - Full-text. This is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States.

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest (University of Washington) - Full text. The digital databases includes over 2,300 original photographs as well as over 1,500 pages from the Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior from 1851 to 1908 and six Indian treaties negotiated in 1855. Secondary sources include 89 articles from the Pacific Northwest Quarterly and 23 University of Washington publications in Anthropology.

Enduring Legacy Native Case Studies (The Evergreen State College) - Full text. The mission of the Enduring Legacies Native Cases Initiative is to develop culturally relevant curriculum and teaching resources in the form of case studies on key issues in Indian Country.

Healthcare to Native Americans - Full text. The exhibit focuses on the administration of health care to Native American recipients by the United States Government. It examines the evolution of government responsibility and its transfer through the Departments of War, the Interior, and Health, Education, and Welfare, now the Department of Health and Human Services.

Index Of Native American Resources - Virtual Library - Index. This site is constructed primarily to provide information resources to the Native American community and only secondarily to the general community.

Indigenous Environment Network - Full text. IEN was formed by grassroots Indigenous peoples and individuals to address environmental and economic justice issues.

Indian Affairs: laws and treaties – Full-text. This is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).

National Archives: researching American Indian and Alaska Natives – Full-text. Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s. The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business.

Native American Cultural Site - Index. This website's goal is to facilitate communication among Native peoples and between Indians and non-Indians by providing access to home pages of Native American Nations and organizations, and to other sites that provide solid information about American Indians.

Native Religion - Full text. This site explores the intersection between law, religion, and Native American traditions in historic and recent cases -- many of them pending -- where Native American communities have sought protection for "sacred" lands, practices, objects, and human remains that are arguably, if not solely or plainly, matters of religious freedom.

Northwest Indian Fishing Commission (NWIFC) - Full text. The role of the NWIFC is to assist member tribes in their role as natural resources co-managers. The commission provides direct services to tribes in areas such as biometrics, fish health and salmon management to achieve an economy of scale that makes more efficient use of limited federal funding. The NWIFC also provides a forum for tribes to address shared natural resources management issues and enables the tribes to speak with a unified voice in Washington, D.C.

Office of Tribal Justice - Full text. The Office of Tribal Justice is the primary point of contact for the Department of Justice with federally recognized Native American tribes, and advises the Department on legal and policy matters pertaining to Native Americans.

Treaty Trail (Washington State Historical Society) - Full text. Ten treaties were signed in just 13 months and are still exerting influence on the various populations of the Northwest today.

E-books

Native American Commission Claims Decisions - Full text. Covers volumes 1 - 43.

Streaming Media
Images

American Indian Experience - Images. This is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States.

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest (University of Washington) - Images. The digital databases includes over 2,300 original photographs as well as over 1,500 pages from the Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior from 1851 to 1908 and six Indian treaties negotiated in 1855. Secondary sources include 89 articles from the Pacific Northwest Quarterly and 23 University of Washington publications in Anthropology.

Listening to our Ancestors: The Art of Native Life Along the North Pacific Coast - Images. Eleven Native communities along the North Pacific Coast share their perspective on mnore than 400 ceremonial and everyday objects that connect them to their land, customs and ancestors.