Philosophy: Online Research Resources
Humanities Full Text - Mostly Full text. A full text database of nearly 200 journals, dating back to 1995. It also indexes over 500 journals as far back as 1984. Coverage includes some of the most important journals in their fields.
JSTOR - Full text. A comprehensive archive of important and core journals, dating back to the beginning of their publication. TESC has access to Arts & Sciences I-IV, VII, Life Sciences and Ireland.
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names - Full text. Thousands of entries, with hyperlinks to additional essays and resource material. For many of the major philosophers, provides a brief discussion of major philosophical tenets and contributions to the field, along with a bibliography of primary and secondary works and links. For students and persons with an emerging interest in philosophy, this site will serve as a good starting point for understanding the discipline, its concepts, and its practitioners.
Encyclopedia of Diderot and d'Alembert: Collaborative Translation Project - Full text. One of the crowning achievements of the Enlightenment, the Encyclopedia edited by Denis Diderot and Jean le Rond d'Alembert in the 18th century has proved to be fertile ground for those who have sought to classify and chronicle the various branches of knowledge. This is an online version translated into English, with links to the original French versions.
Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, theology, & Culture - Full text. Surveys the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse the present understanding of time. Explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full text. A selection of encyclopedias covering such subjects as business, history, literature and more.
Oxford Reference Online Premium - Full Text. This combines the scholarly resources offered by the Oxford Companions series with authoritative, quick-reference coverage of the full subject spectrum. This also includes the Literature Collection, which spans a wealth of international literary history; and the Western Civilization Collection, which traces the development of western thought and culture from the time of Socrates.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Full text. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is intended to serve as an authoritative reference work suitable for use by professionals and students in the field of philosophy, as well as by all others interested in authoritative discussions on philosophical topics.