Photography: Online Research Resources
ARTstor - Images. ARTstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. PLEASE NOTE: From off-campus, you will need to log into an account created from campus to remove the "examination copy" watermark.
Digital Collections from the Libraries' Special Collection / University of Washington Libraries - Images. A major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats and periods.
The Field Museum - Images. The Library's Photo Archives collection dates back to the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893. It comprises over 300,000 images in the areas of Anthropology, Botany, Geology, and Zoology.
The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library - Images. Allows one to search both The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library.
George Eastman House: International Museum of Photography and Film - Images. George Eastman House, an independent nonprofit museum, is an educational institution that tells the story of photography and motion pictures.
Helios: Photography Online / National Museum of American Art - Images. The photography collection of the Smithsonian American Art Museum.
[New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery] - Images. Contains over 870,000 images of New York City selected from the municipal Archive. It goes back to the mid-1800s.
NREL Photographic Information Exchange / National Renewable Energy Laboratory - Images. A collection of photographs related to renewable energy and energy efficient technologies.
SIRIS: Smithsonian Institution Research Information System - Images. This Image Gallery includes over 266,300 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.
Washington State Digital Archives - Images. The Washington State Digital Archives is the nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.