Sciences Reference: Online Research Resources
Biodiversity Heritage Library - Full text. The BHL serves texts with information on over a 150 million species names. Using Global Names Recognition And Discovery (GNRD) and UBio's taxonomic name finding tools, researchers can bring together publications about species and find links to related content in the Encyclopedia of Life. Because of its commitment to open access, BHL provides a range of services and API's which allow users to harvest source data files and reuse content for research purposes.
Birds of North America Online - Full-text. Sounds & Images. This provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
Building Green - Full text. An authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings. PLEASE NOTE: This site can be trusted.
CAST: the Science for Food, Agriculture, and Environmental Issues - Full Text. CAST addresses issues of animal sciences, food sciences and agricultural technology, plant and soil sciences, and plant protection sciences with inputs from economists, social scientists, toxicologists or plant pathologists and entomologists, weed scientists, nematologists, and legal experts.
Comprehensive Renewable Energy - Full-text. Comprehensive Renewable Energy is the only multi-volume reference work of its type at a time when renewable energy sources are seen increasingly as realistic alternatives to fossil fuels.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior - Full-text. This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics Online - Full text. The most comprehensive reference on astronomy and astrophysics ever published. Comprising more than 2.5 million words, the Encyclopedia is a work of unprecedented scope and quality written by 800 of the world's leading names in astronomy and astrophysics.
Encyclopedia of Consciousness - Full text. Coverage encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness; the neural circuitry involved; how the brain, body, and world interact; and our understanding of subjective states.
Encyclopedia of Ecology - Full text. This work contains contributions from international experts on a diverse array of topics related to ecology.
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition - Full text. Provides comprehensive coverage of the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition.
Encyclopedia of Geology - Full text. This work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development - Full text. A reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters - Full text. This work describes and explains all the basic features of the subject, from water chemistry and physics, to the biology of aquatic creatures and the complex function and balance of aquatic ecosystems of varying size and complexity.
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment - Full text. This work encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry - Full text. This work covers theory, methods, and applications for researchers, students, and professionals-combining proven techniques and new insights for comprehensive coverage of the field.
Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology & Culture - Full-text. Surveys the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse the present understanding of time. Explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full-text. A selection of encyclopedias covering such subjects as business, history, literature and more.
Global Library of Women's Medicine - Full-text. A comprehensive reference to current clinical practice for clinicians and other medical professionals - constantly updated, fully referenced and peer reviewed.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology - Full-text. Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances - including their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
Matchmaker: Mushrooms of the Pacific Northwest - Full text with Images. Used for Pacific Northwest mushroom identification and information.
National Map - Images. The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data.
National Technical Information Service: the Central Source for Government Information - Full text. Search the NTIS Library for full-text documents published since 1990. The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) serves our nation as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
NCAT Sustainable Agriculture Project - Full-text. PLEASE NOTE: You will need to Sign In with these passwords: Username: email@example.com Password: evergreen There is a 10-users-at-a-time limit. The National Center for Appropriate Technology (NCAT) is a private nonprofit organization, founded in 1976, which manages a series of projects that promote self-reliance and sustainable lifestyles through wise use of appropriate technology. Its programs deal with sustainable and renewable energy, energy conservation, resource-efficient housing, sustainable community development, and sustainable agriculture.
Physical Reference Data - Full-text. From the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Contains information on physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data, atomic and molecular data, nuclear and radiation data, and more.
Plantwise Knowledge Bank - Full-text. The Plantwise knowledge bank brings together key plant health information from across the world, including a useful diagnostic tool and factsheet library to help diagnose and manage plant health problems.
ScienceDirect: Reference Works - Full text. A Number of ScienceDirect's encyclopedias, covering subjects in both the sciences and social sciences.
Scientific Commons - Some full-text. The goal of the Scientific Commons website is to "develop the world's largest communication medium for scientific knowledge products which is freely accessible to the public." Indexing and full-text for 16 million items.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds - Full text. An integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes six different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.
Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science - Full text. The study of estuaries and coasts has seen enormous growth in recent years, since changes in these areas have a large effect on the food chain, as well as on the physics and chemistry of the ocean. As the coasts and river banks around the world become more densely populated, the pressure on these ecosystems intensifies, putting a new focus on environmental, socio-economic and policy issues.
Treatise on Water Science - Full text. Water quality and management are of great significance globally, as the demand for clean, potable water far exceeds the availability. Water science research brings together the natural and applied sciences, engineering, chemistry, law and policy, and economics, and the Treatise on Water Science seeks to unite these areas through contributions from a global team of author-experts.
United Nations Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre: UNEP-WCMC - Full text. UNEP-WCMC's mission is to evaluate and highlight the many values of biodiversity and put authoritative biodiversity knowledge at the centre of decision-making.
Water Resources of the United States - Full text. Information concerning the United States' water resources.