Social Sciences Images: Online Research Resources
American Indian Experience - Full-text. This is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library - Images. American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Archive of Early American Images - Images. A database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.
Coast Salish Villages of Puget Sound - Images. Maps and images posted by Tom Daily provide known permanent village sites (c.1800) of the Coast Salish people who lived--and still live--in the Puget Sound area of Washington State.
Digital Collections from the Libraries' Special Collections (University of Washington) - Images. A major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats and periods.
Early Washington Maps - Images. A digitized collection of maps spanning three hundred years of exploration and settlement in the Pacific Northwest.
FEMA Photo Library - Images. The FEMA on line Photo Library contains more than 16,500 disaster related photographs made since 1989. The photographs are of Hurricanes, Tornadoes, Floods, Typhoons, Fires, Avalanches, Ice Storms, Blizzards, World Trade Center and Pentagon Terrorist Attacks, Earthquakes, and the Columbia Space Shuttle Disaster
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery - Images. Contains over 870,000 images of New York City selected from the municipal Archive. It goes back to the mid-1800s.
SIRIS: Smithsonian Institution Research Information System - Images. This Image Gallery includes over 266,300 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.
Time & Life Picture - Images. Time & Life Pictures is an unparalleled collection of striking imagery, documenting past and present events in politics, culture, celebrities and the arts.
University of Michigan Museum of Anthropology: UMMA - Images. The collections include materials from all continental areas, with particular strengths in eastern North America and Asia.
Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture - Images. View maps, fine artwork, photographs and other items from over thirty renowned collections.
Washington Secretary of State: Washington History - Images. Washington State History provides links to online collections including historical maps, government archives, newspapers, state constitution and voting history.
Washington State Digital Archive - Images. The Washington State Digital Archives is the nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.
Witness and Response: September 11 Acquisitions at the Library of Congress - Images. Includes an abundance of original material including prints, photographs, drawings, poems, eye-witness accounts and personal reactions, headlines, books, magazines, songs, maps, videotapes and films.