Social Sciences Reference: Online Research Resources
Access Washington - Full Text. The portal for Washington state government information and services. Includes links to county, city, and town government websites.
Almanac of American Politics - Full text. Full of maps, census data, and information on topics ranging from campaign expenditures to voting records to interest group ratings. Often referred to as the "bible of American politics".
American Indian Experience - Full-text. This is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States.
ArchiveGrid - Index. Access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections from around the world. Use for searching historical documents, personal papers and family histories.
Bureau of Justice Statistics - Full text. Collects, analyzes and published information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Canada Site - Full Text. The Canada Site is the primary Internet portal for information on the Government of Canada, its programs, services, new initiatives and products, and for information about Canada.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - Index. Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings,debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Over a half million records.
College Blue Book - Full text. A guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
County and City Data Book - Full-text. State and county data include the following general subjects: population, households, vital statistics, health, labor, Social Security, Supplemental Security income, crime, money income, housing, labor force, personal income, agriculture, manufactures building permits, wholesale and retail trade, service industries, banking, government employment and finances, and elections.
CQ Researcher - Full-text. Offers comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy
Crime in the United States - Full text. Crime in the United States (CIUS) is an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data.
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body - Full-text. Explores the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world.
Data - Full text. The World Bank's comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe.
Encyclopedia of Consciousness - Full text. Coverage encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness; the neural circuitry involved; how the brain, body, and world interact; and our understanding of subjective states.
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience - Full-text. Addresses traditional death and dying-related topics, focusing on the human experience. Includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning.
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development - Full text. A reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.
Encyclopedia of Journalism - Full-text. Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics
Encyclopedia of Life - Full-text. The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) began in 2007 with the bold idea to provide "a webpage for every species." EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one massive database and a single, easy-to-use online portal.
Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History - Full-text. Covers strikes and lockouts from 1636-2008.
Encyclopedia of Time - Full-text. Surveys the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse the present understanding of time. Explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present.
European Views of the America, 1493-1750 - Index. This resource was created from the European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe, an authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
FedWorld.gov - Some Full Text. Provides government information and resources for consumers. The site is managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
Find-it! Washington - Index. The official Washington State locator service for state and local government information.
FindLaw - LawCrawler - Full text. FindLaw is the highest-trafficked legal Web site, providing the most comprehensive set of legal resources on the Internet for legal professionals, businesses, students and individuals. These resources include Web search utilities, cases and codes, legal news, an online career center, and community-oriented tools, such as a secure document management utility, mailing lists, message boards and free e-mail.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Full-text. A selection of encyclopedias covering such subjects as business, history, literature and more.
Global Legal Information Network - Full text. The Global Legal Information Network (GLIN) is a database of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations. These GLIN members contribute the official full texts of published documents to the database in their original language. Each document is accompanied by a summary in English and subject terms selected from the multilingual index to GLIN
GPO Access - Full Text. GPO Access provides free public access to full-text, official Federal information; Federal information finding aids; and Federal products for sale.
Great Events from History: the 20th Century, 1901-1940 - Full-text. Covers the early twentieth century receives worldwide coverage with the priority of meeting the needs of history students at the high school and undergraduate levels. The events covered include the curriculum-oriented geopolitical events of the era--from World War I (1914-1918) and the Russian Revolution (1917) to the rise of the German Nazi Party , the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), and the eruption of World War II in Europe (1939).
InfoNation - Full text. This website allows you to view and compare statistical data for all UN member states.
International Council of Shopping Centers: ICSC - Full-text. The International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC) is the global trade association of the shopping center industry. Its 60,000 members include shopping center owners, developers, managers, marketing specialists, investors, lenders, retailers and other professionals as well as academics and public officials. PLEASE NOTE: most of the website is free access. The Reference Desk (phone: 360-867-6252) has the password for those parts that are not.
International Encyclopedia of Education - Full text. The wide coverage will appeal to both scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest - Full-text. Covers the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years. Provides scholars and teachers and students with the information needed to understand the role and significance and origin of protest and revolution from 1500 to the present.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences - Full text. This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - Full text. 2nd Edition. This encyclopedia contains 2990 articles to meet the needs of college students and researchers.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - Full-text. 1st Edition. Includes numerous entries on topics in social science research and practice.
Library of Congress Country Studies - The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
National Map - Images. The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data.
OECD Factbook - Full text. This website provides a global overview of today's major economic, social and environmental indicators, presenting them clearly and concisely, and in a range of user-friendly formats.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the Civilizations of Mexico and Central America - Full Text. This is a comprehensive reference source, with more than 600 articles, that chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History - Full Text. This has over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
Pop Culture Universe - Multimedia & Full-text. An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
Proquest Statistical of the U.S. - Full text. A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans - Full text. Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies.
ScienceDirect: Reference Works - Full text. A Number of ScienceDirect's encyclopedias, covering subjects in both the sciences and social sciences.
Sixties in America - Full-text. This database surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States. The set not only provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the three major events of the 1960's that give the decade its distinctive character-the Civil Rights movement, the social revolution, and the Vietnam War-but also surveys important developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics, and gender issues.
State and Local Government on the Net - Index. Provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book - Full-text. Includes the following general subjects: population, households, vital statistics, health, labor, Social Security, Supplemental Security income, crime, money income, housing, labor force, personal income, agriculture, manufactures building permits, wholesale and retail trade, service industries, banking, government employment and finances, and elections.
Statistical Abstract of the United States - Full-text. The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published 1878-2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Student Aid on the Web - Full text. This is an official U.S. government web site designed for college students and their families. Its mission is to provide you with easy access to information and resources from the U.S. government - all the info you need, in one place, from all parts of the government.
THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet - Full text. Provides access to full text of the Congressional Record and bills for the 103rd to the present Congress, a directory of congressional committees and members of Congress, the weekly floor schedule for the House, and a schedule of daily committee hearings.
Thurston County History: People and Places - Full text. This site is dedicated to the People and Places of Thurston County.
United States Law Week - Full-text. Covers the most significant cases and key legislative, regulatory, and pre-decisional developments, across the country, across all areas of the law.
USA.gov - Some full-text. The federal government's gateway to federal, state, local and tribal government. Also find government information by topic.
USGS MapFinder - Images. MapFinder is a searchable catalog of maps and digital map data available from the USGS. Contains detailed listings for over 57,000 topographic, county, land-use and specialty maps within conterminous United States (lower 48 states). PLEASE NOTE: You may need to download the plug-in. It's easy.
Welcome to the United Nations - Full Text. The United Nations (U.N.) is an international agency headquartered in New York City that provides peacekeeping and humanitarian assistance worldwide. The U.N. consists of 30 affiliated organizations, known together as the U.N. system. The U.N. outlines its organizational structure, lists its member states, and highlights its publications.