The Evergreen State College Wordmark

The Daniel J. Evans Library

Sociology: Online Research Resources

Browse by subject:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Articles

Ebscohost: Sociology - Some full text. Search 3 Ebsco databases at one time: Left Index, PsycInfo and SocIndex with full text.

JSTOR - Full text. A comprehensive archive of important and core journals, dating back to the beginning of their publication. TESC has access to Arts & Sciences I-IV, VII, Life Sciences and Ireland.

Left Index - Index. Provides access to a diversity of literature on the left, with an emphasis on scholarship inside and outside of the academy and on significant but little know sources.

PsycInfo - Index. Indexing begins with 1887, covering 9900 titles, from 25 different languages. Since 1987, it has included chapter and book coverage for materials in English.

Social Sciences Full Text - Mostly Full text. A multidisciplinary database. It indexes more than 1725 social science journals, plus individually selected items from over 3300 scientific and technical journals.

SocINDEX with Full Text - Some Full text. This database features more than 1,969,000 records, including abstracts for more than 1,120 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. The database also contains full text for 691 journals dating back to 1908.

Reference

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology - Full-text. This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline.

Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body - Full text. Explores the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world.

Encyclopedia of Consciousness - Dictionaries, Encyclopedia & Thesauruses. Coverage encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness; the neural circuitry involved; how the brain, body, and world interact; and our understanding of subjective states.

Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience - Full text. Addresses traditional death and dying-related topics, focusing on the human experience. Includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning.

Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development - Dictionaries, Encyclopedia & Thesauruses. A reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.

Encyclopedia of Journalism - Full text. Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.

Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History - Full text. Covers strikes and lockouts from 1636-2008.

Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture - Full text. Surveys the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse the present understanding of time. Explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present.

Great Events from History. The 20th Century, 1901-1940 - Full text. Covers the early twentieth century receives worldwide coverage with the priority of meeting the needs of history students at the high school and undergraduate levels. The events covered include the curriculum-oriented geopolitical events of the era--from World War I (1914-1918) and the Russian Revolution (1917) to the rise of the German Nazi Party , the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), and the eruption of World War II in Europe (1939).

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to the Present - Full text. Covers the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years. Provides scholars and teachers and students with the information needed to understand the role and significance and origin of protest and revolution from 1500 to the present.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Thesauruses. This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences / William A Darity, Jr., Editor in Chief - Full text. 2nd Edition. This encyclopedia contains 2990 articles to meet the needs of college students and researchers.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences / David L. Sills, Editor - Full text. 1st Edition. Includes numerous entries on topics in social science research and practice.

Pop Culture Universe - Multimedia & Full text. An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.

ScienceDirect. Reference Works - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Thesauruses. A Number of ScienceDirect's encyclopedias, covering subjects in both the sciences and social sciences.

Sixties in America - Full text. This database surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States. The set not only provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the three major events of the 1960's that give the decade its distinctive character-the Civil Rights movement, the social revolution, and the Vietnam War-but also surveys important developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics, and gender issues.

E-books
Streaming Media
Images