The Evergreen State College Wordmark

The Daniel J. Evans Library

Sustainability: Online Research Resources

Browse by subject:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Articles

Alt-PressWatch - Full text. Alt-PressWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.

Alternative Press Index - Index. Indexes over 250 alternative, radical, leftist journals. You won't find 90% of them indexed anywhere else. Indexing begins with 1991.

Biological Abstracts - Index. Coverage from 1969 to present in over 4,000 journals. Updated every 2 months with nearly 370,000 new citations added each year. 90% of all new citations include an abstract by the author.

BioOne - Full text. Both full text and indexing for about over 100 high-impact bioscience journals, beginning in 2000.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts - Index. CSA's Internet Database Service provides access to major areas of research, including aquatic sciences and fisheries and linguistics.

DIALOGWEB - Please consult a librarian at the Reference desk for access. This is a powerful search tool that provides access to thousands of authoritative business, scientific, intellectual property, and technical publications.

Ebscohost: Sustainability - Indexes. Search 5 Ebsco databases at one time: Alternative Press Index, Biological Abstracts, Greenfile, Left Index and Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide.

GreenFILE - Index. A research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

JSTOR - Full text. A comprehensive archive of important and core journals, dating back to the beginning of their publication. TESC has access to Arts & Sciences I-IV, VII, Life Sciences and Ireland.

Left Index - Index. Provides access to a diversity of literature on the left, with an emphasis on scholarship inside and outside of the academy and on significant but little know sources.

ScienceDirect - Full text. Includes two collections: Social & Behavioral Sciences Collection and the Health & Life Sciences Collection. Approximately 1350 full-text journals.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide - Index. Index of materials on wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. Includes over 500,000 bibliographic records, many with abstracts.

Reference

Comprehensive Renewable Energy - Full text. Comprehensive Renewable Energy is the only multi-volume reference work of its type at a time when renewable energy sources are seen increasingly as realistic alternatives to fossil fuels.

DIALOGWEB - Please consult a librarian at the Reference desk for access. This is a powerful search tool that provides access to thousands of authoritative business, scientific, intellectual property, and technical publications.

Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Thesauruses. This work encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere.

ScienceDirect. Reference Works - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Thesauruses. A Number of ScienceDirect's encyclopedias, covering subjects in both the sciences and social sciences.

United Nations Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre - Full text. UNEP-WCMC's mission is to evaluate and highlight the many values of biodiversity and put authoritative biodiversity knowledge at the centre of decision-making.

E-books
Streaming Media

Building Green - Full text. An authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings. PLEASE NOTE: This site can be trusted.

Images